Avocado Balsamic Salad

Salads.

They’re good for you.  They’re low on calories.  They’re a good way to get your daily servings of vegetables.  They’re filled with nutrients and vitamins and antioxidants all that good stuff.

They’re also hit or miss taste-wise.

I have a go-to salad.  It’s the one I posted in my post on homemade salad dressings.  For the past year and a half, I make this salad and my balsamic salad dressing (which I will love and continue to make for the rest of my life) each and every time that I want to fill up on some leafy greens and feel good about myself.

But I figured it’s time to branch out.

Time to try a new salad.

Time to live a little.

IMG_2113.jpg
This is my definition of “branching out”

So I bypassed the spinach at the store and grabbed some good old fashioned Spring Mix.  I added my favorite salad topping, cherry tomatoes (maybe my all-time favorite vegetable?  They definitely rank up there), and decided to get a little adventurous with a few additional topics.

Nothing too out-there.  Just fresh mozzarella and an avocado.

Then I topped it all off with my beloved homemade balsamic vinaigrette.

I was impressed with the results.

So impressed that I felt like I needed to share this award-winning combination with you all.

So here it is:

My Avocado Balsamic Salad

Ingredients:

1 bowl of spring mix

1 cup of cherry tomatoes (or less, if you aren’t as tomato-obsessed as I am), sliced in half

1 ounce of fresh mozzarella, cut into bite-sized chunks

1 avocado, also cut into bite-sized chunks

My Balsamic Dressing, the second dressing recipe on this link

 

Directions:

Mix the ingredients in a bowl (salads are pretty self-explanatory)

IMG_2111.jpg
So fresh. So clean. So scrumptious with all that avocado-y goodness.

What are your go-to salads?  Share in the comments section below!  I’d love to give them a try!

Leave a comment