Breakfast Frittatas

Now that I’m finally on summer break, I thought I’d take advantage of having a little bit of extra time to really expand my recipe selection, and to continue my attempts at healthy eating.

Eating a healthy breakfast is especially hard for me during the school year.  It always seems like I’m in way too big of a hurry to get to campus, which usually results in me grabbing a banana or a granola bar for the road.

But I think I finally found a yummy, quick, and healthy recipe that I can use for on-the-go breakfasts when classes start again this fall (and, let’s be real, I’m going to be making these pretty often over the summer, too!)

These breakfast frittatas are super quick and super easy!

First, preheat your over to 350 and spray a cupcake sheet with some cooking spray.

IMG_3261

Next, grab a couple handfuls of fresh spinach, rinse them, and chop them up on a cutting board.

IMG_3260

Rinse and halve twelve cherry tomatoes.

Evenly distribute the spinach into all of the cupcake spots, and top that with two cherry tomato halves.

IMG_3262

Next, crack and add ten eggs to a large mixing bowl.

IMG_3263

Sprinkle in a little bit of salt and pepper (I only added a pinch – but feel free to add as much as you’d like!) and whisk them together.

I then poured the whisked eggs into a large glass measuring cup, and evenly distributed the mixture into each of the 12 cupcake spots.

IMG_3264

Hopefully by this point your oven has preheated, and you can stick these suckers in!

Cook them for 15-20 minutes until firm.  They started to pop out of the cups after about 12 minutes in my oven, which is fine!

When you remove them, let them cool for a few minutes before taking them out of the cups.  Then just remove them onto a plate, and enjoy!

IMG_3266

The best part about these mini-frittatas is the way they taste the next day!  Just store the frittatas in your refrigerator (I covered mine in aluminum foil) and grab a few more for breakfast the next day.  Pop them in the microwave for about 20 seconds, and you’ll be good to go!

Do you have any healthy, quick breakfast recipes you’d like to share?  I’d love to see them in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “Breakfast Frittatas

  1. Can really empathise with the banana and granola bar comment! That’s my standby lunch when I annout visiting students on placement in schools! Nobody thinks about the “poor tutors” when they are doing their rounds!!!

Leave a Reply

