Roasted Vegetables

Corey and I have still been going strong with our healthy cooking/eating resolution (woohoo!  7 days in!), and recipes like this one make healthy eating fun.

I’ve never tried making my own roasted vegetables before, so I was nervous to try out this recipe.  But it was so easy and so delicious!

This would really be the perfect side dish for so many meals.  I’ll definitely be making this recipe a couple times a month.

IMG_1726
So pretty!

Ingredients:

1 chopped zucchini, cut into half circles

1 chopped yellow squash, cut into half circles

Broccoli florets chopped from 1 large bunch of broccoli

4 carrots, chopped into bite-size pieces

10 ounces of sliced portobello mushrooms (we’re going to double this next time)

1 cup of cherry tomatoes, halved (we’re going to leave these our next time)

1/4 cup olive oil

2 tsp kosher salt

1 & 1/2 tsp black pepper

 

Directions:

Heat oven to 425F

Wash and cut up all of your vegetables and place them into a large bowl

IMG_1716

IMG_1718

Add in your olive oil, salt, and pepper

IMG_1720

Toss the vegetables until all of them are covered with the olive oil, salt, and pepper

Spread the vegetables onto two jelly pans (cookie sheets with about 1 inch raised sides)

IMG_1723

Put the vegetables in the oven for a total of 35-40 minutes, removing the jelly pans and moving the vegetables around every 13-15 minutes or so

IMG_1724

(My oven always seems to cook things really quickly, so I set my timer for 13 minutes, removed the pans and stirred the vegetables,  reset my timer for another 13 minutes, removed and stirred again, and put them back in the oven for another 10 minutes.  I also switched up the racks that the trays were on so the vegetables on each try would get a pretty even cook.)

That’s it!  Perfect roasted vegetables with very little effort.

We had ours with the Simple Shell Pasta I wrote about here.  (Corey claims that it’s one of his favorite meals we’ve had so far, and I wanted something easy to whip up the first time I tried roasting vegetables)

IMG_1728

It was fabulous!

Each of us chose the tomatoes as the only vegetable that we didn’t absolutely love in this recipe (although uncooked tomatoes are my favorite vegetable), so we’ll be leaving it our next time.  We’re also adding more mushrooms, because can you ever have too many mushrooms?

And here’s the website where I found the original recipe on Pinterest.

What’s your favorite way to serve vegetables?  Do share!

 

5 thoughts on “Roasted Vegetables

Leave a Reply

