Trying My Hand at Salad Dressings…

One of my resolutions this year is to really cut back on eating foods with preservatives in them.  I’m trying to eat fresher and more natural.  I really do like eating healthy and I always seem to feel better after a healthy meal.  (Maybe this is just in my head?)  But, I’ve really failed at this in the past.  I’m usually so busy with grad classes and teaching that I don’t really have time to cook or put the work into preparing fresh, healthy meals.

Now I’m going to change that.

Corey and I set the goal of cooking good dinners at least 4 days a week (and eating leftovers or going out to dinner a couple times a week, too).

The Crock Pot Honey Garlic Chicken recipe and the Simple Shell Pasta dinner I made earlier this week were both pretty healthy and fresh, so I’m counting both of those as wins.

But what about a lighter meal for those weekend lunches at home?

One of my go-to lighter meals is a huge salad with the works.  I’m pretty positive I could live off of Greek salads from Panera.  So I decided to make my own.

IMG_1640
Now THAT’S a good looking salad

This is just a head of Romaine, some cherry tomatoes, a sliced red onion, a cubed cucumber, some Kalamata olives, a sliced red pepper, and some feta cheese.

I felt really good about the salad, until I remembered how horribly unhealthy most salad dressings are.

Now, I love my store-bought Greek and French dressings as much as anyone else, but I don’t love all the sugar and preservatives in them.

So I decided to make my own Greek dressing.

And it was SO easy and SO delicious that I also decided to make some Balsamic Vinaigrette.

IMG_1631
Success!

Greek dressing ingredients:

1/2 cup olive oil

1 clove garlic, minced

1/4 cup lemon juice, freshly squeezed and strained

1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

1 teaspoon dried oregano

 

Instructions:

Add ingredients together into a mason jar.  Stir vigorously for 30 seconds or so with a spoon, using an up and down stirring motion.  Put the lid on the mason jar (this step is VERY important).  Shake it like a polaroid picture.

Celebrate.  That’s it!

 

**********************************************************

Balsamic Vinaigrette dressing ingredients:

1/3 cup olive oil

1 clove garlic, minced

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

1/2 tablespoon red wine vinegar

1/2 teaspoon ground mustard

1/2 tablespoon lemon juice, freshly squeezed and strained

 

Instructions:

(Same as the above dressing!)  Add ingredients together into a mason jar. Stir vigorously for 30 seconds or so with a spoon, using an up and down stirring motion. Put the lid on the mason jar (again, this step is VERY important).  Shake it, sh-shake it.

Enjoy!

 

These dressings were both delicious as SO easy to make.  I suggest making them at the same time since you’ll need a garlic press (or your preferred method of mincing garlic) and a juicer for the lemon for each recipe.

Do you have any homemade salad dressings you’d like to share?  I’d love to try them!

7 thoughts on “Trying My Hand at Salad Dressings…

  1. I love making my own dressing, too. I stopped buying the stuff a couple years ago when I figured out how easy it was to make. Buying salad dressing reminds me of buying pancake mix–it’s basically just 2-3 things pre-mixed with a bunch of additives.

    1. That’s such a good point! I’m planning to keep on making my own and never have to by the store bought stuff again either. I was really surprised with how easy it was to make!

Leave a Reply

