Simple Shell Pasta

Corey and I didn’t make it home from my parents’ house until late yesterday evening, so we thought we’d just make something fast, easy, and light for dinner.  After a quick google search and picking and choosing bits and pieces from a few different recipes, I found a simple dish that I could make using a couple ingredients that I already had sitting around in the pantry.

I didn’t expect much flavor because there were only 5 ingredients in the entire meal, but boy was I wrong.

This dish was absolutely delicious.

IMG_1675
A plate full of wonderful goodness

Ingredients:

1 box pasta of your choosing (I used shells)

1/4 cup Olive Oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tablespoon ground black pepper

Shredded parmesan cheese (however much you prefer) to sprinkle on at the end

 

I just used a regular old box of shells and cooked them just as I’ve always cooked them before.  You know, the usual “boil water, add pasta, cook until tender” deal.

Meanwhile, I heated up the olive oil in a saucepan over medium heat and added in my minced garlic.  (Have I ever mentioned how much I love garlic?  Because I LOVE garlic!)  I left this on the heat for about one minute, stirring a couple times.  Then I removed from the heat until the pasta was done.

When the pasta had finished cooking, I poured it over a colander and then returned it to the original pot.  I added the olive oil and garlic on top, then added in my black pepper while stirring continuously.

After we plated our pasta, Corey and I added some shredded parmesan cheese.

And voila!

I was truly surprised by how much I loved this simple dish.  And Corey must’ve loved it too, because he went back for seconds. 🙂

I even had a bowl of leftovers for lunch today, minus the parmesan.  And you know what?  It tasted just as good!

IMG_1682
Lunchtime Leftovers

I’m pretty impressed with this simple pasta dish.  I’m thinking it may become a regular in our house.

Do you have any quick and easy pasta dishes you’d like to share?  I’d love to try some more!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. That sounds great! I do something similar actually, I make thin spaghetti noodles the regular way, then I mix in some “garlic and sea salt” seasoning and olive oil while stirring, and then add parmesan at the end as well!! It’s one of our go-to lazy but yummy dishes! 🙂

    1. laceynoel77 says:

      That sounds really good, too! I may have to try that one next time 🙂 Thanks for the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

