The Columbus Zoo

A few weekends ago, the boyfriend and I met up with a couple friends to spend the weekend in Columbus, Ohio.  We went shopping at Easton Town Center and I experienced my first meal at The Cheesecake Factory.

 

But the most fun part of the trip was definitely our day at the Columbus Zoo.

 

The boyfriend and I on a Manatee
The boyfriend and I on a Manatee

 

Selfie with a penguin
Selfie with a penguin

 

The Columbus Zoo is the most interactive zoo I’ve ever been to.  The staff really strive to give you the best experience possible.  We were able to touch a snake and a few sea creatures (starfish and whatnot) so it was super fun!

 

We also had some awesome guides who walked through a few exhibits with us.  They gave us some great information on the zoo’s animals.

That's one sizable gorilla
That’s one sizable gorilla

The Columbus Zoo has multiple aviaries that you can walk through and you can actually feed the birds in one of them.

The boyfriend with his bird buddy
The boyfriend with his bird buddy
They were too cute!
They were too cute!

The highlight of the trip was the giraffe-feeding.  For only $3 we were able to feed a group of giraffes some lettuce that the staff provided.  The boyfriend and I were lucky enough to get to feed the baby giraffe.  He was extra cute and kept licking my hand!

 

The boyfriend and the baby giraffe
The boyfriend and the baby giraffe
He was adorable!
He was adorable!

We had such a blast and I can’t wait to go back (although next time I will remember to take sunscreen).  I highly recommend the zoo to anyone visiting the Columbus area!

 

Posing in front of a train with our friends from college, Nemmy and Jess
Posing in front of a train with our friends from college, Nemmy and Jess

Please feel free to leave comments about your favorite zoos!  I would love some ideas of places to visit in the future. 

 

Leave a Reply

